Skip to content

Parsons Students Heeya Mody and Austin G. Casebolt Selected as Student Trustees

After reviewing the nominations and interviewing candidates, a university selection committee made up of student senators, staff and faculty has chosen Heeya Mody (BFA Design and Technology ‘23) and Austin G. Casebolt (MFA Fine Arts ’22) to serve on The New School’s Board of Trustees as Student Trustees for the 2021-2022 academic year.

As the Student Trustees, Heeya and Austin will provide a student perspective to the university’s Board of Trustees and weigh in on issues that impact the future of The New School. Congratulations, Heeya and Austin!

Heeya Mody is an artist, technologist and a thinker inspired by philosophical texts, scientific innovations, and analytical critiques on society. Born in Antwerp, Belgium, she has been involved in implementing positive change from a young age, whether that entailed setting up a system for bottle cap collection to help fund the training of guide dogs, or lending her skills to those in need. On a mission to build a more interconnected community, Mody devotes her time to working with non-profit organizations and is serving as Director of Operations on the executive board of The New School’s University Student Senate. Mody is honored to work alongside the institution’s “architects” that design and materialize the future trajectory of The New School as a member of the Board of Trustees.


Austin G. Casebolt is an award-winning artist and educator born in the heart of the Appalachian mountains in Pikeville, Kentucky. He is currently based in New York where he is a second year graduate student in the Parsons, MFA Fine Arts program. Casebolt has relentlessly pursued his passion for social justice and improving accessibility to art and educational resources through public art installations, leading non-profit organizations, educating students and serving on the Executive Committee of Academic Affairs at The New School. Casebolt has joined the ranks of leaders who envision and chart a course for the future at The New School as a member of the Board of Trustees.